Economic policy experts available for comment on Ontario’s cap-and-trade announcement

Toronto, April 13, 2015 —Economists from Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission are available to provide insight into the economic and environmental context of Ontario’s newly announced cap-and-trade commitment, and the factors that may determine its effectiveness as a carbon-pricing policy.

Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission is an independent group of leading economists from across the country focused on advancing fiscal policy reforms that will improve Canada’s economic and environmental outcomes.   Last week, the Commission released a substantial new report focused on provincial carbon pricing: The Way Forward: A Practical Approach for Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions in Canada.

Chris Ragan is the Chair of Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission, professor of economics at McGill University and a Research Fellow at the C.D. Howe Institute.

Paul Boothe is the Director of the Lawrence National Centre for Policy and Management at the Ivey Business School, Western University and a member of Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission.

Both can discuss new research from the Commission regarding the advantages of pursuing carbon pricing at the provincial level. They can also provide insight into the key policy details that matter in terms of effectiveness as well as the opportunities and challenges Ontario’s policy will need to address.


“As provinces look at ways to achieve their climate commitments, Ontario is showing what is possible. Our research shows that every province stands to gain more from pricing carbon—whether through a tax or cap-and-trade system—than from a regulatory approach.”   – Chris Ragan, Chair, Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission

“Ontario’s commitment is an important step forward. The next critical step will be working through the details of policy—stringency, coverage, and how permits are allocated. These decisions will determine how well the policy performs to meet environmental and economic goals.” – Paul Boothe, Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission

Media Contact:
Jennifer Wesanko